Hi I'm Ryan Berger, a Cloud Automation Engineer at Cycle Labs

Hey everyone,

My name is Ryan Berger, and I’m a Cloud Automation Engineer II at Cycle Labs. I have been at Cycle Labs for almost two years now, and it has been quite the ride. So much has changed over those two years! We went from just having an on-premise executable offering, to literally building a SaaS version of Cycle Automation from absolute scratch. Obviously that process has been a lot of things, from exciting to frustrating. In short, I am extremely proud of the work my team and I have accomplished with Cycle Cloud.

My role here is mainly provisioning + supporting the cloud infrastructure that powers not only Cycle Cloud, but our internal infrastructure as well. I have been working with Azure as cloud provider for about 7 years now and have spent a lot of time automating Azure services, as well as manually building them out and managing them. When I first came here, I took this skillset and designed and wrote the code for the Cycle Appliance Azure deployment. One of the things I really wanted to learn and focus on was getting more involved in not just building typical infrastructure (virtual servers, networks, storage, etc) but learning how to deploy containerized applications into Kubernetes following a DevOps approach. Thankfully, that is what I’ve been doing and it has been exactly what I wanted to be doing at this point in my career. It helps that it perfectly aligns with what we’re doing at Cycle Labs!

I am constantly trying to learn about new tools that will make my life easier and allow me to automate things further. We’re living in such a crazy time with tech right now, that it is dang near impossible to keep up with everything. Some tools that have my attention right now and that we’re using at Cycle Labs are: